If you are no longer using an iOS device, an Apple Watch, AirPods, or a Mac, you can remove it from Find My iPhone using Find My iPhone on iCloud.com or on your device. When you remove a device, it is removed from your Find My iPhone Devices list. If your device has iOS 8 or later, Activation Lock will also be turned off.
Before giving away or selling your iOS device, be sure to erase your content and settings (in Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings). When you erase your content, Find My iPhone and Activation Lock are also turned off. For more information, see the Apple Support article What to do before selling or giving away your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. For more information about what to do before selling or giving away Apple Watch, see Sell, give away, or protect a lost Apple Watch in the Apple Watch User Guide.
Note: Apple Watch and AirPods remain in Find My iPhone until you also remove any devices that are paired with them.
Remove an iOS device or Mac
On an iOS device: Go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud (or Settings > iCloud), then turn off Find My [device].
On a Mac: Choose Apple menu > System Preferences, click iCloud, then deselect Find My Mac.
Note: You can also remove your device by turning off iCloud completely on that device. Turning off iCloud turns off all iCloud features on the device.
Remove an iOS device, Apple Watch, or Mac you no longer have
If you no longer have the iOS device, Apple Watch, or Mac because you gave it away or sold it, you need to remotely erase it before you can remove it. With Apple Watch, you must have watchOS 3 installed to remove Apple Watch.
Click All Devices, then select the device you want to erase. To erase:
An iOS device or Apple Watch: Enter your Apple ID password or your family member’s Apple ID password. If you’re not using a trusted browser, answer your security questions or enter the verification code that is sent to your other devices. If you are using your own computer and want to skip the verification step in the future, click Trust. If you are using a friend’s computer, click Don’t Trust. If the device you are erasing has iOS 8 or later, enter a phone number and message.
A Mac: Enter your Apple ID password or your family member’s Apple ID password. If you are not using a trusted browser, answer your security questions or enter the verification code that is sent to your other devices. If you are using your own computer and want to skip the verification step in the future, click Trust. If you are using a friend’s computer, click Don’t Trust. Enter a passcode to lock the Mac (you need to use the passcode to unlock it), then enter a message.
If the device is offline, the remote erase begins the next time it goes online. You will receive an email when the device is erased.
Any credit or debit cards set up for Apple Pay on your device are removed from your device if you erase it, even if it is offline. Apple Pay is also disabled for your device. For more information, see the Apple Support article Use Wallet on your iPhone or iPod touch.
When the device is erased, click Remove from Account.
All your content is erased, and someone else can now activate the device.
You can also use a different iOS device to remove your device. For more information, open Find My iPhone, tap Help, then go to “Remove your device.” Or you can remove your devices from your iCloud account. For more information, see Manage your devices.